National Careers Week- Career Pathways

National Careers Week- Career Pathways

For National Careers Week, we have asked members of the CASCAID team about their experiences and career journey as well as any recommendations and advice they can provide. Today, it’s the turn of  IT support technician, Sam Green.

Tell us about your current role

My job role at CASCAID is as an IT support technician. I provide technical support to our customers and internally for staff members. I help keep CASCAID’s IT systems running smoothly and effectively, while installing, maintaining and updating software and hardware throughout the company.

What was your journey from education to your current job like?

After completing my GCSE’s, I had the choice of staying at sixth form or pursing other paths. I decided I wanted to do an apprenticeship. An apprenticeship would allow me to work towards qualifications by combining on the job training and learning new skills at college.

I carried out my apprenticeship at CASCAID while attending college where I completed my qualifications. CASCAID was my first experience working in an office environment and I became more independent and confident in the skills I was learning. I completed my level 3 apprenticeship at CASCAID and immediately decided that I wanted to move on to an advanced apprenticeship and gain more qualifications. I moved onto my level 4 apprenticeship with the support of CASCAID and began to further my skills and education. There was a lot more work required but it was an excellent experience that helped me progress in my role at CASCAID. My knowledge grew, as did my skills.

I completed my Level 4 apprenticeship and was given a full time job at CASCAID where I have continued to learn and progress.

What advice would you give to a young person who was interested in your career?

An apprenticeship is a fantastic way to gain qualifications while carrying out on the job training and earning a wage. It can be hard work but it pays off and you’ll be in a fantastic position to further your career.

What career did you want to do when you were younger?

I remember I wanted to become a bus driver as it always looked like good fun to me when I was a younger. I also wanted to become a professional footballer. I spent all my spare time growing up playing football with my friends.

sams-signature Sam Green,  IT Support Technician

Leave a Reply

