National Careers Week- software developer

Software DeveloperTell us about your current role

I am a software developer. This means that I develop and maintain the CASCAiD website and the software programs. I work on new software products as well as maintaining the existing career guidance software programs. I also work on the internal system that the company uses and the external system that the users will be using.

What was your journey from education to your current job like?

I did my A levels and then went on to study Physics at the University of Nottingham. From there, I went straight into a job as a software engineer. I was a software engineer at BAE systems and then went on to become a software developer at a privately-owned company with about 30 staff members. I was a software developer there for ten years before moving to CASCAiD.

What advice would you give to a young person who was interested in your career?

I would say that to be successful as a developer you have to have an interest beyond that of just your job.

I would also say to young people and to anyone wanting to be a developer that it is a very accessible career with lots of opportunities to enter, whatever age you are. You can learn how to develop at school or at home and even though I did the higher education route, there are a variety of ways to enter this profession.

And finally, what career did you want to do when you were younger?

I wanted to work on an oil rig when I was younger. I’ve always wanted to work in a technical role.

One thought on “National Careers Week- software developer

Leave a Reply

