National Careers Week- sales executive

Tell us about your current role

sales executiveI am a sales executive and started at CASCAiD in December 2012. In my role, I work on large areas such as local authorities and agencies to promote the sales of CASCAiD software into schools. I also train customers and potential customers, through webinars, to use our career guidance software. I also go to career exhibitions and events to promote the company name as an expert in career guidance and promote our software programs.

What was your journey from education to your current job like?

I completed my GCSEs and A levels at my local school and then went straight into higher education where I studied Psychology BSc at De Montfort University. After my degree, I went straight into my job as a learning support assistant.

As a learning support assistant in a school, I was working with students with learning and behavioural difficulties. After this, I became a cover supervisor where I began teaching classes when the teachers were unavailable or ill. I then progressed to become a religious education teacher, teaching students from 11-18 years old.

I was a teacher for four years until changing career to become an educational recruitment consultant. In this role, I would liaise with schools and teachers to help fill teaching roles and find cover teachers when teachers were ill or unavailable.

From being in recruitment, I then moved to CASCAiD where I am now a sales executive.

I have always been in the education field and I have always had an interest in working with schools, so when I saw a sales post in this field I applied to join CASCAiD.

What advice would you give to a young person who was interest in your career?

I would advise young people to always keep their aspirations high, whatever your grades are at school. From studying and working my way up through teaching it has taught me to not give up as hard work and perseverance can help you achieve your goals.

I would also advise young people to start networking when they can, to meet new people in a variety of jobs. I feel this is important as it gives you ideas of how to get into jobs and what people in these careers really do. It also gives you ideas of new jobs and ones you may never have thought of entering before.

And finally, what did you want to do when you were younger?

I always wanted to be a beautician.

Leave a Reply

